Dream Big Or Go Home

Got to spend my Labor Day hanging out in Boston. Yes, I would have rather been with my family (we live in Georgia) but my employer had summoned me to our corporate headquarters. So, at any rate, I decided to spend my day at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum. Those of you who know me… well, you know 🙂 It was a good day for me to say the least.

Dream Big

No comment… not yet. #DreamBig

So, while I was there I decided to take a “selfie”. My next big mistake was posting it on Facebook. It wasn’t long before the jokes started showing up on the comment section. In all seriousness, I’m glad I could give people a laugh or two. Most of you know I have no problem with “putting myself out there.” I love bringing a smile to people. And I love attention.

But here’s the thing…

Over the past few months God has birthed a not-so-subtle stirring in my Spirit. He recently spoke some very clear directions to me about one day serving those in positions of power. I won’t lie to you. Nothing could be more foreign for me. I spent a number of years addicted to drugs and alcohol. I followed that with a 20-year stint on the mission field working in Argentina (briefly) and American ghettos (MPLS and Miami mainly). I recently returned to college at the age of 44 and will be heading to Oxford, England this upcoming October to finish my studies. I’ve done a lot of things over the course of my life. But politics? Absolutely nowhere on the radar. Zero interest in any of it. None whatsoever. But now? Now, God has placed my feet upon a never-before-imagined path. I don’t know where it will lead. For now all I know is He told me, “Missionary to D.C. You have served the poor. Now serve those I in power.” That’s it.

Now bear in mind… I’m not planning on starting a church. Not returning to pulpit ministry. I will never march in another “missionary parade” at District Council (not that there’s anything wrong with that). No urban ministry. No asking for monetary support. It will be completely anonymous, under-the-radar, just going to get a job, and let God use me as His voice in a very dark place. In fact, many of you know that I have even begun sending my resume to the U.S. House of Representatives applying for any “entry-level” position. (No, I don’t seriously expect a response but it has more to do with obedience and trust on my end of the equation). In fact, I would say the words that I heard JFK share during his acceptance speech for the Democratic presidential nomination probably best captures my intent, “We are not here to curse the darkness, but to light a candle that can guide us through the darkness to a safe and sure future. For the world is changing. The old era is ending. The old ways will not do.” I just want to be a candle. Go to work. Serve. Represent Him. That’s it.

In closing, I say, “If you are going to dream, dream big.” I say, “Aim for the moon, and you just might hit a star or two.” I say, “My best days are not behind me, but they are in front of me.” And yes, in the end, all of this might prove to be nothing more than the mindless meanderings of a middle-age crisis. But I would rather spend the last half of my life trying to do great things than awakening one day with the realization that I had wasted my life. Well, there you have it. No, I don’t ever think I’ll be POTUS. But if God gives me the chance to even stand in that office for just one day as a servant, I will have seen the dream come to fruition.

And so, in closing I leave you with a segment from one of my favorite speeches of all time… John F. Kennedy at the 1960 Democratic Convention. Over 55 years have passed but the words still ring true.

But I believe that the times require imagination and courage and perseverance. I’m asking each of you to be pioneers towards that New Frontier. My call is to the young in heart, regardless of age — to the stout in spirit, regardless of Party, to all who respond to the scriptural call: “Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be [thou] dismayed. For courage , not complacency, is our need today; leadership, not salesmanship. And the only valid test of leadership is the ability to lead, and lead vigorously.”