Surrounded By Coincidence

GlobeThis is one of my recent Facebook posts. Thought I’d share it just in case anyone else out there was going through something similar… There are three things in life that never cease to amaze me:

  1. God hears our prayers
  2. God allows us to chase our dreams
  3. God gives us a second chance, a third chance, a fourth chance, a fifth… Endless opportunities because of a limitless grace.

At any rate, here you go.

“Seems like God is going out of His way this semester to make sure I don’t miss the path this time around. (I’m usually pretty slow when it comes to figuring things out spiritually.) I have to work with at least 2 different groups this semester at Mercer. Nothing unique about that in and of itself. Group work is fairly common. The really, really interesting part to me personally is the actual makeup of the two groups. One guy’s father is from Nigeria, one girl’s family is from Thailand, another girl is from the Philippines, and another guy is from the Netherlands. In addition, the girl I am debating in another class is from Liberia. Uh huh… 5 different countries in one semester. Really, God??? Talk about confirmation. I know God usually speaks in a still, small voice but here lately it seems like He is “shouting” to me. Constantly. If some of the “coincidences” in my life were any more blatant, I would start to think there was a Divine plan at work in my life 😉  To be honest, it’s hard to imagine another pronounced upheaval in my life at the age of 47 (terrifying is actually the word that first comes to mind). But if I only have 20-30 years or so left on this earth I want them to count. Desperately. (Don’t panic, Shelly, we’re not moving to Asia or Africa. I’m not even sure we’ll be moving.) Personally I’m just not ready to retire and relax. Not at all. Quite the opposite. In my mind and heart, my best days, my most meaningful days, are in front of me… not behind me. And if God is gracious enough to give someone like me a second chance, I intend to make the most of it.”