God Is NOT…

PossibleSome of greatest struggles come from faulty perceptions. Too many times we see God in the wrong light. We allow our impression of God to be determined by the filter of our own personal circumstances. In the end our understanding of Him becomes skewed, distorted, and damaging. Yesterday we took a look at a short list that reminded us of the true nature of God. Today, I want us to consider the other side of the coin. Here is a brief reminder of all the things God is NOT.

God is not…

My butler… my servant… mad at me… Santa Claus… selfish… dead… able to go back on his word… a set of rules… a magic worker… a liar… your “sugar daddy”… absent… unavailable… unconcerned… remote… a vending machine… my accuser… unfaithful… mocked… limited… going to forsake me.

Stop buying the lies. Don’t let past experiences or present pain distort the truth. During times of trouble and trial it’s important to remember who God is. And it’s just as important to remember who He’s not.

(Again, special word of thanks to all those who contributed their ideas to this blog today. Take care.)