Halloween: Is It Worth Fighting Over?

TrickOrTreatI want to talk about Halloween for just a minute today. Why? Because I once again see so many people of faith drawing a line in the sand and declaring that this holiday will be their final battleground. If I were smart, I would just avoid the whole subject. But I’ve never been known to be the smartest guy in the room. At any rate, I’ll be honest with you on this one. I’m just not convinced that this is as serious an issue as some would lead us to believe. Bottom line? This is just my opinion. Take it for what it’s worth… one man’s opinion.

In light of yesterday’s post, I have often wondered which causes greater damage to Kingdom concerns… our penchant toward pride and hypocrisy or our participation in “grey” areas. (I know, I know. Some of my friends reading this right now will say there’s nothing “grey” about Halloween. But I don’t believe it’s the devil’s “day” anymore than the meat offered to idols in Paul’s time belonged to demons.) All I know is that in my younger years I invested a lot of time and energy “protesting” all the things that we had been taught were exclusively the devil’s domain… cards, movie theaters, music, Madonna, makeup, Halloween, Power Rangers, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, on and on and on it went. At the end of the day I didn’t see much Kingdom building that resulted from these often heated debates. Our dogmatic beliefs only seemed to build walls and caused the world to turn a deaf ear to His Gospel. We patted ourselves on the back for our convictions but I just didn’t see the love of Jesus flowing from our staunch stances.

The older I get the more I try to focus on Jesus. I know that might sound like a cop-out but I’m tired of fighting battles over non-essentials, over issues that are peripheral at best.

Final analysis? (1) The post yesterday wasn’t really about Halloween. My emphasis was meant to be our lack of honesty in worship. As for Halloween? As far as I’m concerned? Participate. Or don’t participate. I really could care less either way. I just find it hard to believe that God will love us any less if we let our children put on a Buzz Lightyear costume and ask for candy. (2) I could very well be wrong. (Certainly wouldn’t be the first time and it certainly won’t be the last.) Pray for me. God knows I need it. Well, that’s enough for now… Don’ think of this as a “rebuke” or a social media fight. It’s not that at all. Just wanted to give you an honest answer from me personally.

I would love to hear your feedback on this one as long as you can keep it sensible. Yes, Jesus was truth. But He was also grace. He was truth AND grace. His children should be the same. You can debate your position without insulting others. Just saying… Surely I’m not the only tired of “Christian” trolls???

Well, that’s it. Let me hear back from you on Halloween. Take care.