Let Go Of Your Plans

Let Go 01Let go of your plans.

Two days ago we talked about letting go of the past. Yesterday we talked about letting go of the pain. Today I want to take a look at what may well be the hardest part of the equation. Since I’m the one doing the writing, I’ll step forth as the first volunteer for a few moments of painful honesty. I admit it. I am my own worst enemy. For over 46 years I have repeatedly done my best to undo God’s purposes and promises for my life. And the chief tool for these ridiculous attempts to usurp the Sovereign One? My own plans.

That’s right. There’s no sense in lying to you about it. On numerous occasions I have rushed ahead at full speed with little or no regard for such “trivial” considerations as prayer or waiting upon God in His Word. Safety in a multitude of counselors? Not me. That’s for lesser mortals. I don’t need advice. I don’t need to seek the wisdom of others. I am more than capable, more than able, and more than qualified when it comes to making my own decisions and plotting out my own course. In the words of the poet, “I am the master of my fate: I am the captain of my soul.” You can applaud now 🙂

But there’s just been one “minor” problem with this life philosophy, one “tiny” difficulty that keeps arising. Okay, it’s actually a HUGE issue. Despite my best efforts I keep managing to get lost. I end up shipwrecked. I invariably become a castaway, stranded on the island of my own pitiful plans. For a while I seem to do well but inevitably I end up wandering far off course, slumping around in a wilderness of bad choices and even worse consequences. My own plans always end up in disaster.

It’s required some time. And it’s required a lot of lessons from the school of hard knocks. But I am finally starting to realize that the only real plan that is guaranteed to work is His plan. So for my part, the best thing to do is to get alone with Him and make sure I’m on the same page with God. Yes, there will be times when His plans don’t make sense to me. Yes, there will be time when His plans will carry us through challenging and difficult days. But in the end His plans are for the best. And His plans are the ones we should pursue.

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” ~ Jeremiah 29:11