Fixing The Problem By Facing The Real Issue

Govt ShutdownLet me go ahead and apologize from the very beginning. This probably won’t be what you’re either hoping or expecting. Sorry, but I don’t have any insightful comments or words of wisdom about the current political process in our nation. In fact, most of you know I’m not a “political” person. But I just had one simple thought I wanted to quickly share as it relates to the recent events regarding the “government shutdown.” Now, bear in mind, my interest is far more closely related to the spiritual side of the equation. Therefore, I’m not going to waste anyone’s time with political rants or opinions. I just have one thought that stems from my own sense of personal conviction. (Note… I said, “my own sense of personal conviction.” I’m just sharing with you the thought that came to me first.) It seems like many people in the Body of Christ are quick to criticize and complain the processes and people involved in politics. It seems like it has become a past time for some. I’m not judging. Really, I’m not. I just want to point something out. I wonder how different things would be if we, His people, invested the same amount of time and energy in intercession as we do in complaining…

First of all, then, I urge that entreaties and prayers, petitions and thanksgivings, be made on behalf of all men, for kings and all who are in authority so that we may lead a tranquil and quiet life…” ~ 1 Timothy 2:1-2