Water In The Desert

Water01Thank you… I miss you… God bless you… You’re welcome… Let me help you… I’m sorry… I forgive you… That means a lot… Please… Excuse me… I’m listening… You’re special… I appreciate you… I love you.” Words… We seldom give them a second thought.  And yet, even the shortest and simplest of phrases are packed full of life and power.  So many people meander their way through life desperately wanting someone, anyone to affirm them with their words. They long to hear just one word of kindness and graciousness from the lip’s of another human being. They spend their days like a dying man in the desert, hoping for just even a small “glass” of love and compassion that will slake their emotional and spiritual thirst. But far too often we only see the needs of the world in terms of the “big picture.” We long to be world-changers. We want global impact. Sadly, as we fix our eyes on the horizon we also tend to overlook the opportunities that surround us daily. In order to “save” the world you first have to see the people. I want to challenge each us today to look for chances to bring life to those in our sphere of influence. Be someone’s “water in the desert” today. The mouth is filled with power and your words have the potential to bring life to others. Be intentional today. Choose and use your words wisely.

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my rock and my Redeemer.” ~ Psalm 19:14