10 Things I Wish I Had Known When I Was 18

A collection of random thoughts (in no particular order) that I have shared with graduating high school seniors over the years. Sound words of advice for all teens and young adults. Oh who am I kidding, its sound advice regardless of your age. Enjoy…

10. It’s alright to change your mind. Decisions are going to become increasingly more weighty and difficult as the years pass. Don’t feel so pressured. It’s alright to take your time and ask for help when making decisions.

9. Learning should be a way of living. Never, never, never stop learning. Yes, an education can be a pricey investment. But in time you will discover that it is well worth the cost, effort, and sacrifice.

8. Make the most of every opportunity. Life has no rewind button. You seldom get second chances with anything. Make it count!!! Give your best. Give your all. A life with no regrets is a life you will never regret.

7. I will not be a child anymore one of these days. Huh? Growing up means growing up. Stop making excuses. Stop blaming others. Stop expecting someone else to always clean up after you. Be accountable. Take responsibility. Develop in maturity.

6. Change is the one constant in life. Be flexible. Learn to adapt. Especially when it comes to yourself. You are still evolving. In so many ways you are just now entering the cocoon of who you will become.

5. Nothing of true, lasting value comes cheap. Sweat, blood, and tears are the purchase price of life’s greatest treasures. If it costs nothing, it is unlikely that it will mean anything to you.

4. Choices and character are inseparable. “Got problems with the fruit? Take a look at the root,” is what I always say. Never forget that who I am is what I will do. I am my words. I am my actions. Don’t just be a character. Have character. Character counts.

3. Learn to laugh. Not everything is as serious as we like to think. Seriously. Give yourself and others plenty of margin and room for error. You will make mistakes. Pobody’s nerfect. When it happens, get up, clean yourself off, and get moving forward again.

2. Given the choice between knowledge and wisdom… I’d pick wisdom. You can know everything and still fail a test. Knowing facts and information means nothing if you don’t know what to do with what you know. Understand?

1. Life is unpredictable. Make sure your loved ones know that you love and care for them. Never assume they know. Use words and reinforce them with actions. Do it today. Today!

Well, that’s it. The only thing I would like to add in closing is a quote from Mark Twain that says, “Sing like no one’s listening, love like you’ve never been hurt, dance like nobody’s watching, and live like its heaven on earth.” Good words indeed…