Penn State, the NCAA, and Joe Pa

Just some random thoughts as I have pondered the recent developments during the past few days as it relates to Jerry Sandusky, Joe Paterno, and the NCAAs recent decision regarding Penn State’s complicity….

1. As a nation we have truly lost our way when we find ourselves more outraged by a college football team’s future than the injustices perpetrated on innocent children…

2. Penn State will recover. Yes, they will have some immediate challenges in the near future but life will continue for their athletes, students, and alumni. However, those victimized by a system of misguided priorities that enabled rape and molestation will have to deal with their pain and shame for the remainder of their lives. Don’t tell me that Penn State got the raw end of the deal…

3. If you are my friend and I find out that you are molesting children, I will call the police. (I’ve done it before and I will do it again if necessary.) I will still love you. And I will certainly pray for you. But I will do everything in my power to make certain that innocent children are protected from you and you are protected from yourself…

4. As a parent I cannot imagine the devastation that touches the families of the involved children. Your children were raped and those in authority enabled it to continue. Do not feel a need to apologize for your anger and outrage. You have my utmost respect. If it had been my child, I would have probably killed someone…

5. I am reminded that a lifetime of accomplishments can be undone in a moment. How quickly a man’s legacy can change. Yes, Joe Paterno impacted countless lives for the good but the stain of this current situation may well become his defining memory. A tragic and sobering warning to all of us of the importance of our daily decisions…