A New Horizon

Eccl 3;1, “There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven…

Sometimes I just don’t know where to start…

To many of you I am a complete stranger. We have never met and we probably never will on this side of eternity. You know almost nothing about me other than the pieces of information that you may have gleaned from these devotionals. For the most part I am nameless. I am faceless.  I am the personification of anonymity. But I don’t mind. In fact, that was what God laid on my heart back when I first started this venture almost 3 years ago. This blog was never about me. It’s always been about Him. It’s always been for Him.

Having said that, I want to give you a window into my life. In the past few months the pace of my life has accelerated beyond anything I had initially anticipated. In early October my wife was diagnosed with breast cancer. I am happy to report that she is doing well. Her final chemo treatment will be this upcoming week. About a month after that she will have the cancerous breast removed. In the beginning this was a terrifying ordeal. But as is the case in so many things, the shadow of despair that defined the first few weeks eventually gave way to the new normal. Life certainly changed for us as a family. But through the grace of God we have endured and kept moving forward. Life has continued for us.

More recently, I returned to college in January of this year. God opened a number of doors of favor both at work and with regard to our finances. The degree that was abandoned in 1987 has finally been resumed after 25 years. The one significant change during the past 2 plus decades has been in my approach to this newly granted opportunity. This time I am eager to learn. This time I am eager to excel. This time I am eager to make the most of this very precious chance that I have been given at 44 years of age. I read. I study. I do all the assigned work. I apply myself at every point along the way. I go above and beyond the teacher’s expectations because I want to honor God with this season of my life. This is what my hand has found to do. And I intend to do it with all my might. For Him.

Having said all that… I think the time has come to step back from this blog site. It’s been a great run these past 3 years. (18 months exclusively on Facebook followed by another 18 months on WordPress.) Incredibly, this past month saw my most views since I first began writing these daily devotionals. Over 10,000 views for the month of January. (Small in the world of blogging but huge for me.) Granted, it seems strange to walk away when things have finally begun to turn a corner. Things are good right now. In the natural, now would be the time to press forward. Time to promote. Time to perhaps even publish.

But, as I wait before Him in the closet of prayer, I don’t believe it’s His time. Not now. Maybe never. His path for me is leading in a different direction. He has pointed me to face a different horizon. One that requires more of my time than I have currently available. I do not know what the long-term future holds for me or my family. Will we ever return to pastoral ministry? Maybe one day we will find ourselves back on the traditional mission field? I don’t know. But I leave it in His hands. For now, He has led me back to college and told me to pursue a business degree with all my strength. For the first time in almost 3 years I have felt the resurgence of divine purpose in my life. I feel His pleasure when I walk the campus. I feel His strength when I work on my assignments. I feel alive again. And I feel His peace as I prepare to lay down the very thing that has been one of my most cherished hobbies during these past 3 years. I give this blog back to Him.

For now, I am signing off. I imagine I will still post the occasional blog. I am still deeply committed to my daily time with the Lord. I still preach on the weekends. So, I imagine that there will still be devotionals ready to burst forth from time to time. But that level of almost daily commitment that defined the past 3 years? That sail is being set toward a new horizon. In closing, I want to say thank you. Thank you for the tremendous privilege that has been afforded me through this ministry opportunity. Thank you for allowing me to share God’s Word with you. Thank you for all your prayers. And thank you for all the kind words of appreciation and encouragement over the years. It is going to be hard to set all this down. But where He leads, there I must follow. Until such a time as our paths cross again, take care and God bless. Indeed, the Lord our God bless you mightily.