Sick Of Being Tired?

Judges 13:5, “For behold, you shall conceive and give birth to a son,…

Some days I find that I have really grown tired…

Tired of the alarm clock going off just when I finally managed to fall asleep. Tired of feeling sick when I first wake up. Tired of waiting on the computer to load up. Tired of praying for a son with autism and a wife with cancer. Tired of wondering why nothing seems to change. Tired of waiting for the traffic light to turn green. Tired of other cars running that same traffic light. Tired of waiting for the train to stop blocking the road. Tired of waiting on fellow coworkers to finish their responsibilities so I can start on mine. Tired of waiting in line at the local restaurant to place my order. Tired of that same restaurant always getting my order wrong. Tired of all the excuses for why the job wasn’t done right the first time. Tired of it somehow always being my fault. Tired of counting down the minutes until I can clock out and finally leave.

Tired of the long drive home at the end of a long day. Tired of all the money I spend on gas. Tired of waiting in the doctor’s office for a 5 minute visit that costs me $75 and gets me feeling no better. Tired of all the noise, fighting, and chaos when I first get home. Tired of helping with homework assignments that lack clear instructions. Tired of hearing, “I left the book in my locker.” Tired of 10 minutes of commercials trying to sale me stuff I neither want nor need. Tired of staying up late to watch my team lose in overtime. Tired of berating myself for not turning the TV off sooner. Tired of feeling exhausted but still struggling to fall asleep. Tired of tossing and turning throughout the night. Tired of the alarm clock going off just when I finally managed to fall asleep…

Have you ever felt tired?

The wife of Manoah had received a wonderful promise from God. “…you shall conceive and give birth…” For a barren woman God could have given no greater promise. In a matter of seconds God spoke 6 words that forever changed her life. The pain of her past was forever lost in her newly realized hope for the future. But here’s the thing. Yes, she had a promise. But she still had to go through the process. No stork was going to arrive that night with a basket full of joy. She was going to have to endure all of the inconvenience, pain, and sacrifice associated with being pregnant. For 9 long months she would carry the promise within her. Now, I’ve never been pregnant; therefore, I can only speak about it from secondhand experience (my wife is the mother of 3 children). There were many, many days when my wife grew weary with the pregnancy. Many times when she was ready for the womb to release the weight that she continually bore. She grew tired with all the waiting. She grew tired with all the discomfort. But as we all know, a premature birth is never a good thing. Even during her second pregnancy when she spent 6 weeks in a hospital bed the doctors waited as long as possible before delivering the child.

In my life God has given me a number of precious promises over the years. Promises concerning my son. Promises concerning my wife. Promises concerning this current season of my life. I feel pregnant with both faith and hope for our future as a family. But on most days I am still wrestling with the process. I’m not barren. Not by a long shot. I am a blessed man. God has been good to me. Far, far better than anything I ever could or will deserve. God has conceived expectation within my heart. The words of Jeremiah 29:11 live within the womb of my soul. “For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not calamity to give you a future and a hope.” But I know that I’m still in the process. The things which He has conceived in my spirit have not yet been birthed. But I know that day is coming. I know it.

For now, I’m still pregnant. And while being pregnant can be an unpleasant experience, I appreciate the value of seeing it through until the end. As I told you earlier my wife has given birth to 3 children. However, she has been pregnant 4 times. Sadly, one of those pregnancies didn’t make it to birth. We had a miscarriage. Yeah. I know the pain that comes when the pregnancy ends too early. It’s painful when it happens in the natural. And it’s painful when it happens in the spiritual. I know you are tired, my friend. But let me encourage you to hold on just a little longer. The promises that God has spoken to you will come to pass. God will not fail you because He cannot fail to keep His Word. The thing that has been conceived within you will one day be birthed through you. But for now, don’t rush the process. Don’t abort the divine pregnancy. Let the process be completed.