21 Days Of Christmas: Surrender

Christmas is surrender. Consider Mary. A young girl of little more than 14 years of age. Without any warning her life is forever altered by an angelic visitation. Gabriel greets her with an unusual declaration, “…favored one. The Lord is with you.” Then he proceeds to tell her that she is going to be the one who will give birth to the Savior of all mankind. Through her womb the Messiah will enter human history. Mother to the Son of God? No light task if you ask me. Talk about responsibility. Talk about pressure. And yet, Mary willingly agrees. “…may it be done to me according to your word.” No hesitation. No reservation. Just surrender to the will of God. I find that extremely challenging. This Christmas I am praying for a renewed spirit of humility, submission, and the willingness to serve. Lord, grant me the same spirit that moved Mary to surrender. May it be unto me according to your Word, according to Your will. In Jesus’ name. Amen.