Sound Bites: Ephesians

The second installment from the most recent series entitled, “Sound Bites.” Yesterday, we took a brief look at Galatians. Today? One page over to the book of Epehsians. Yes, it’s a new day but the assignment remains the same. One verse from each chapter of a specific book. Short. Simple. Straightforward. My hope is that God will use this new series to spark within each of us a fresh passion for God’s word. Each and every verse, each and every single word of Scripture is full of hope, full of promise, and full of life. My prayer is that God will plant these “sound bites” deep within the soil of our hearts. And that in the fullness of time they would take root downward and bear fruit upward for His glory and our good.

1:16, “…do not cease giving thanks for you, while making mention of you in my prayers;”… Far too often and easily I speak of praying for people. “I will pray for you.” The truth? I seldom follow through on my promise. If I do, it is little more than a fleeting mention of their name. It’s not the way I want others to pray for me. So why do I treat their need with such indifference? Bottom line…I should do less talking and more praying.

2:10, “For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.”… I am His masterpiece, crafted and created by God Himself. He has given me worth. He has given me purpose. Because He created me to be a treasure I should stop living like trash. I am not saved by good works but I am certainly created for them.

3:20, “Now unto to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us,”… I need to ask bigger. I need to think bigger. The smallness of my faith seeks to limit my God. I need to be constantly reminded that through the indwelling presence of the Holy Spirit the limitless power of God resides in me. I am NOT God but because He lives in me I can do all things through the strength He gives. My great need is to enlarge my faith, to enlarge my expectation, to enlarge my anticipation. God longs to do far more abundantly beyond all that I am currently asking or thinking.

4:16, “from whom the whole body, being fitted and held together by what every joint supplies, according to the proper working of each individual part, causes the growth of the body for the building up of itself in love.”… I have a proper role to play. There is something specific that I contribute to the Body as a whole. Instead of complaining because of what I am not, I should be rejoicing in that which He has made me. Am I doing my part? Am I fulfilling my specific, God-designed function?

5:25, “Husbands, loves your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself up for her,”… Selfless, sacrificial and serving should define my role as a husband. But far too often I find myself at the opposite end of the spectrum. I am selfish. I am reluctant to sacrifice. I want to be served. Lord, teach me how to love my wife in the same manner in which You love Your Church. She deserves nothing less than my absolute best.

6:10, “Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might.”… My best strength is only weakness. Apart from Him I can do nothing. He is my only source of strength. My focus, my efforts, and my time need to be directed toward Him. Only as I lean upon Him do I realize the strength I need for each new day.