Where Are All His Miracles?

Judges 6:13, “Then Gideon said to him, ‘O my lord, if the Lord is with us, why then has all this happened to us? And where are all His miracles which our fathers told us about, saying, ‘Did not the Lord bring us up from Egypt?’ But now the Lord has abandoned us and given us into the hand of Midian.'”

I didn’t grow up in church. My parents weren’t bad people but attending church just wasn’t a part of the culture of our family. I don’t come from a long line of preachers, evangelists, or missionaries. I haven’t grown up hearing the stories and testimonies of days past. In fact, I have only been walking with the Lord just a little over 20 years now. I say all this so you will know right up front that my perspective is probably somewhat limited. All I know is what I have read in books. All I know is what I have heard other preachers talk about in their sermons. Personally, my experience is very limited. But from where I stand I have to concur with Gideon. “Where are all His miracles which our fathers told us about?”

Where are the genuine miracles? You know what I mean. The ones that no one can dispute or argue away. The ones that cannot be called into question or disputed. When I look in the Bible I see God working wonders that no one could deny. Just look at the life of Jesus. Lazarus had been dead for 4 days. No question involved there. The man was dead. Now he was alive. The man in John 9 had been blind since birth. Since birth. The widow and her dead son were on their way to the cemetary when Jesus interrupted their funeral procession. Bartimeaus? Everyone knew he was blind. The demoniac in Mark 5? Once Jesus got done with him the whole region knew something significant had happened. Over and over and over again. Jesus performed miracles that left people amazed, fearful, speechless, in awe and wonder. The only ones who even attempted to deny His miracles were the ones who were set on killing Him.

So, back to the original question. “Where are all His miracles which our fathers told us about?” Now, before we go much further, let me say that I already know what is happening on your side of the monitor. Some of you are already formulating a response. You simply can’t wait to get to the end of the note so you can start typing your reply. I will get one of two types of email responses to this devotional. The first response will be from people who have experienced a miracle in their own lives. Cool! I welcome your emails. I am really looking forward to reading the testimonies of God’s grace and power at work in the lives of His people. Just make sure that they are miracles. I don’t want to read that the Lord healed you of a headache after you took 2 aspirin. I want miracles.

The second group of emails will be from those people who will use words like dispensation and apostolic authority. You are going to tell me that miracles ended with the first century Church. I welcome your emails. What I mean to say is that you are always welcome to send me your emails. Just know that I will probably delete them. I don’t agree with you. What’s more, I can’t agree with you. I’m sorry. But I just can’t.

When Gideon looked at the nation’s present problem he knew that nothing short of a miracle could change the situation. The enemy armies were innumerable. Forget the fact that Israel was spiritually compromised, from just a natural standpoint they did not have sufficient military might to overthrow their oppressors. Israel had no king. Israel had no standing army. Israel had abandoned God in favor of idols. Her people were hiding in the caves and dens of the mountains. Nothing about the present environment gave Gideon any reason to have hope. And God was looking to him to deliver the people? Gideon assessed the situation quickly and to him the answer was apparent. No skillfully crafted sermon or talented worship band was going to change their situation. No clever video or moving drama was going to reverse the current decline. The nation’s need required much, much more than the vain routines of an empty religion. They needed God. They needed His power. Israel needed a miracle.

When I look around me today I see so many people (myself included) who are faced with the exact same situation as Gideon. The enemy has devastated their lives. They are barely hanging on. They are struggling to survive. Many are hiding out in the caves of brokenness, addiction, and shame. Their lives are filled with real needs, real hurts, and real issues that cannot be resolved or solved with this current “pop-psychology” that has infected so much of modern Christianity. More teaching isn’t going to change anything. The latest book or DVD series from the current Christian celebrity-of-the-month isn’t going to change anything. They need God. They need His power. They need a miracle.

So, as I said earlier, I’m gonna have to agree with Gideon. Where are His miracles? I don’t have an answer. Sorry. I don’t think Gideon had one either. That’s probably why he asked the question in the first place. He saw Israel’s need. He had heard of God’s power. And in His mind there was really only one solution. Israel needed divine intervention. Whether it was the miracle of dealing with the Midianites or the miracle of changing Israel’s rebellious heart, God was the only viable answer. Be it the enemy without or be it the enemy within, apart from God and His power nothing was going to change.

I don’t know about you but I have to believe that God is still in the miracle working business. The situations and needs that stand before me aren’t going to be fixed through counseling, conferences, or compromised messages void of the Christ and His cross. I need God. I need His power. Yes, I need a miracle. And so, just like Gideon, I look to the Lord and ask, “…where are all Your miracles which our fathers told us about?”