A Question Or Two…

Luke 19:3-5, “Zaccheus was trying to see who Jesus was, and was unable because of the crowd, for he was small in stature. So he ran on ahead and climbed up into a sycamore tree in order to see Him, for He was about to pass through that way. When Jesus came to the place, He looked up and said to him, ‘Zaccheus, hurry and come down, for today I must stay at your house.”

[This is something that I imagined might have been going on in the mind of Zaccheus on that life-changing day when he met Jesus. It’s certainly some things that I have found myself wondering about over the years. Hope it’s a blessing.]

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you couldn’t see Jesus? Have you ever found yourself resenting the crowd that always seems to be near Him? Wouldn’t it be great if you could close the distance between you and God? Don’t you wish that just once you could really get up close, right next to Him?

“…What do I do now? Where did all these people come from so quickly? Could the news that Jesus was here have spread that fast? Why is it that other people can get to Him with such ease but it is so difficult for me? If God  loves all of us the same, why doesn’t He see the desire of my heart? Doesn’t He know that all I want is just to see Him? Why won’t He walk over here to where I am standing? I wonder if He even knows I exist? But then again, who am I that He would want anything to do with me?

…Why did God make me this way? Why do I have to be so short? I wonder if I can get ahead of the crowd? What would happen if I left the crowd behind? What would happen if I positioned myself right where Jesus is going? Is that tree tall enough for what I’m thinking? What if I fall? What if the branch breaks? What if Jesus gets here before I can get up the tree?

…Did I make it in time? Have I already missed my opportunity? Has He already passed me by? Is that Him coming this way? Should I holler? Should I yell? Would He even be able to hear me above the crowd? I wonder if He could see me better if I climbed out on a limb? Is that the branch I hear cracking?

…What’s Jesus doing? Why is He stopping? Is He looking at me? At me? Did He just call my name? Did He really just tell me to come down? Has He lost His mind? Doesn’t he know what kind of man I am. Didn’t anyone tell Him that a “holy” man doesn’t come to a tax collector’s house? Today? Right now? Am I really hearing this? Is this really happening? Why would Jesus want to spend the day with me? Doesn’t He know what I have done? Who I am?”

Am I the only one who wonders at the love of God? What is this grace that would cause Him to take notice of someone like me? What does He see in me? What compels Him to look to me and call me by name? Why am I so slow to accept His gracious offer? Why do I act like I have better things to do than spend time with Him? Why is it so hard for me to just climb down and walk with Him? Why is it so hard to believe that all He really wants, the whole reason He died, is just so we could be together?