Psalm 1: Delight

Ps 1:2-3, “But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and in His law he meditates day and night. He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in its season and its leaf does not wither; and in whatever he does, he prospers.”

Delight. It’s an interesting word. Think desire. Think longing. Think pleasure. That’s right. God is telling us that the blessings of verse 3 come to the one who takes great pleasure in His Word. Incredible when you think about it. God intends for His Word to be a source of pleasure in our lives. Not an obligation. Not a chore. Not some responsibility that we begrudgingly complete. Not a ritual. Not a box to be marked off on a spiritual checklist. Nope. Pleasure. His Word is supposed to bring us pleasure.

So, if that’s the case, then why the breakdown? Why do I find it so hard to stay on track in my devotional life? Why is it so easy for me to slip into seasons of neglect?  Much of the answer has to do with my fallen nature. Let me explain. Part of the idea behind the word delight is the idea of inclination. It’s a natural leaning, a tilt that favors one side. Envision a seesaw. (You know, the playground piece of equipment?) If the weight on one end is greater than the other, the seesaw will tilt in favor of the greater weight. In other words, big kid goes down and the little kid goes up. The disparity in weight has created an inclination that favors the larger child.

That’s really an excellent illustration of the problem in my life. Far too often I allow myself to become weighted down with things that steal away my passion for His Word. At times the list can seem endless. Worry. Fear. Doubt. Sinful desires. Entertainment. Distractions. Commitments. Work. A schedule that is just too full at times. On and on and on it goes… The great need in my life as far as I can tell is a need to lose some weight. Spiritually speaking, that is. Whenever I become weighed down with the things of this world I inevitably lose my longing for His Word. Instead of being a pleasure it becomes a task. Instead of being a delight it becomes drudgery. And all because I allow myself (choose) to become weighed down.

In the days ahead I am making a conscious decision to eliminate the excess and unnecessary weight. I want His Word to be the thing that brings me pleasure in my life. I want His Word to be my longing and my delight. I want my life, my heart and my mind filled with His Word, meditating on it both day and night. Constantly. Continually. That’s it. That’s my desire. I want His Word to be my delight.