Looking In The Wrong Places

Luke 24:5-6, “Why do you seek the living One among the dead? He is not here,….”

Hebrews 11:6, “…and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.”

It took me a few years but I finally wised up. Got a clue. Saw the big picture. I cannot begin to describe to you the depth of my frustration. For what seemed like years I just kept doing it over and over and over again. Everytime I would tell myself that this was the last time. I was going to make some changes, do whatever it took, but this was not going to happen again. 1,000 promises later I still found myself struggling and failing. Despair set in. I didn’t see any way that things would ever be any different for me. Others lived in victory but I seemed doomed to forever live a slave to my habit. But at that very moment, when the darkness was about to engulf my soul, I had a divine epithany, a revelation that changed my destiny. I began to put the car keys on the dresser.

I was that guy. You know. Come in the house, just toss your keys down, can never find them when you need them, accuse everyone else in the house of taking them, never on time for anything as a result…yeah, that guy. I would look everywhere. Under the couch? No. In the refrigerator? No. Outside in the ignition? No. I cannot begin to tell you how many hours of my life were spent looking for my car keys. At one point in got so bad while I was in college that I just started walking everywhere I went. It was either that or stay in my dorm room all the time. How sad. I owned a car but it sat in the parking lot while I was footing it all throughout the day. All because I couldn’t find my keys.

The change came when I started putting my keys on the dresser. Before I did anything else I would walk through the house, head straight for the bedroom, and set my keys down on the dresser. Without fail, the next time I needed my keys I was able to find them. Now, instead of wasting so much time and effort on a futile search I walk straight to the keys and them straight to my car. Knowing where to look had made all the difference.

In many ways that same principle holds true in our lives spiritually. I have met so many people over the years who are trying to “find” Jesus. Whether it arises out of a desire for greater intimacy or from the press of daily living, the scenario usually plays out the same. The struggle so often is in the seeking. Let me share with you one word of advice. One thing that will certainly help is to start looking in the right places. The angels told the women that they were looking for Jesus in the wrong place. The living One would not be found among the dead. They could search all they wanted. But He was not there. It’s tragic but we stand guilty of the same failing. We invest so much time and energy in the “graveyards” of this world. Hours on end spent in activities and things that are simply dead, void of His life. And then we wonder why God seems so elusive in our lives.

I cannot tell you what those dead things are for you. You probably already know the answer to that question anyway. For today, I just want to encourage you to spend your time looking in the right place. After 20 years I do know one place where you can find Him for certain. The Bible. He is there. Develop the habit of looking for Him in that book and you will find Him there on a regular basis. You might have to search some days. But God promises to reward your efforts. If you seek Him, you will find Him. But just like those car keys, and just like those women on that first Easter morning, you have to be looking in the right place.