What’s Your Flavor?

Luke 4:8, “Jesus answered him, ‘It is written, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God and serve Him only.’ ”

Vanilla. Mint Chocolate Chip. Chocolate. Oreo Cookies ‘n Cream. Chocolate Chip. Pralines ‘n Cream. Very Berry Strawberry. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. Old Fashioned Butter Pecan. Jamoca. Jamoca Almond Fudge. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup. Rocky Road. Peanut Butter ‘n Chocolate. Pistachio Almond. Gold Medal Ribbon. World Class Chocolate. Cherries Jubilee. Nutty Coconut. Rainbow Sherbet. Made With Snickers. Those are the classics.

Others prefer the seasonal or regional flavors. Love Potion #31. Premium Churned Light Mint Oreo. Chocolate Fudge. Winter White Chocolate. Chocolate Mousse Royale. Daiquiri Ice. Watermelon Chip. Superfudge Truffle. Icing On The Cake. German Chocolate Cake. Pink Bubblegum. Strawberry Cheesecake. Lemon Blueberry Frozen Yogurt. Splish Splash Sherbet. Cotton Candy. Orange Sherbet. Black Walnut. Wild ‘n Reckless Sherbet. Lemon Custard. Oregon Blackberry. Bananas ‘n Strawberries. Mississippi Mud. Rum Raisin. Creole Cream Cheese. Chocolate Almond. Fudge Brownie. Banana Nut.

Wow! That’s a lot of different flavors. I don’t know about you, but me? I love ice cream. In my world there is no such thing as bad ice cream. In fact, there really is only three types. Good. Better. Best. It amazes me the amount of variety that exists with regard to ice cream. My family can go into the local ice cream parlor and come out with 5 different flavors. No two cones are alike but everyone has ice cream. Everyone is eating. Everyone is happy.

I don’t want to oversimplify today but I often think of ice cream when I think of worship. Just like that wonderful frozen treat there are a lot of different flavors. Singing. Shouting. Serving. Silence. Praising. Preaching. Preparing. Hymns. Choruses. Contemporary. Organ. Guitar. Drums. Dancing. Leaping. Bowing. Giving. Loving. Listening. Learning. Baskin-Robbins has nothing on the Church’s expressions of worship to our God.

Somehow we have lost sight of the fact that our God loves variety. We talk about “unity” but what most of us want is “uniformity.” What is it about variety that threatens us, that makes us feel the need to argue style and semantics? Worship is ultimately a reflection of worth. It is giving God His place of true value and esteem. Through my conduct, my conversation and my character I am declaring to my God that He means everything to me. That is worship. But we would rather waste time and energy trying to prove that God only likes vanilla. Or chocolate. Or Splish Splash Sherbet. My point today is simple. Have YOU worshipped Him today? That’s the thing that really matters. Stop worrying about which flavor your brother prefers and take a look at your own cone. A cone without the ice cream just isn’t the same. Pick a flavor. And worship the Lord.